People

Faculty

Agur, Colin

Assistant Professor

225 Murphy Hall

612-626-5528 | cpagur@umn.edu

Office hours

T, Th: 8 a.m.-12 p.m.

Anderson, Betsy

Contract Teaching Assistant Professor

325 Murphy Hall

612-625-5088 | andbets@umn.edu

Office hours

JOUR 4243-001: Th: 10:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
JOUR 4243-002: T: 12:30-2:15 p.m. via Zoom; and by appointment

Bedingfield, Sid

Associate Professor

217 Murphy Hall

612-624-2438 | sbedingf@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 10-11 a.m.; Th: 1-2 p.m. via Zoom, or by appointment

Belair-Gagnon, Valerie

Assistant Professor
Director, Minnesota Journalism Center

329 Murphy Hall

612-626-7754 | vbg@umn.edu

Office hours

M: 10 a.m.-12 p.m. via Zoom

Brown Kilgo, Danielle

John & Elizabeth Cowles Professor of Journalism, Diversity and Equality

Office hours

W: 10-11 a.m., and by appointment

Carlson, Matt

Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

336 Murphy Hall

612-626-0325 | carlson1@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 1-3 p.m., or by appointment

Cohen, Elisia

Professor
Director, Hubbard School of Journalism and Mass Communication

111 Murphy Hall

612-625-1338 | ecohen@umn.edu

Office hours

Contact Katerina Schuh at kschuh@umn.edu

Cormany, Diane

Contract Teaching Assistant Professor

321 Murphy Hall

612-625-3912 | dcormany@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 10 a.m.-12 p.m., and Th: after our group work

DeFoster, Ruth

Lecturer
Director of Undergraduate Studies

202 Murphy Hall

612-301-2723 | defos002@umn.edu

Office hours

JOUR 3004: W: 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
JOUR 3745: M: 1-2 p.m.
JOUR 4274: W: 1-2 p.m.; and by appointment

Dell'Orto, Giovanna

Associate Professor

204 Murphy Hall

612-626-2951 | dell0014@umn.edu

Office hours

M: 11 a.m.-1 p.m., via Zoom

Doyle, Kenneth O.

Associate Professor

323 Murphy Hall

612-624-5341 | kendoyle@umn.edu

Office hours

M-F: 10-11 a.m. via Zoom

Golden, Gayle

Senior Lecturer
Morse Alumni Distinguished University Teacher

121 Murphy Hall

612-624-2136 | ggolden@umn.edu

Office hours

JOUR 3173: M: 2-3:30 p.m.
JOUR 4175 and JOUR 5606W: M: 10:30 a.m.-12 p.m.; or by appointment

Huh, Jisu

Professor
Raymond O. Mithun Chair in Advertising

211 Murphy Hall

612-626-5527 | jhuh@umn.edu

Office hours

On leave Spring 2021.

Jenson, Mark

Lecturer

109 Murphy Hall

612-626-1851 | jenso001@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 9-10 a.m.; W: 2-3 p.m.; Th: 10-11 a.m. via Zoom, or by appointment

Johnson, Jennifer

Lecturer

109 Murphy Hall

612-625-5868 | joh02016@umn.edu

Office hours

M, W: 11 a.m.-12 p.m. via Zoom

Kanihan, Stacey

Contract Teaching Associate Professor of Strategic Communication
Academic Director of the Professional MA Program in Strategic Communication

317 Murphy Hall

612-624-1064 | skanihan@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 3-4 p.m. via Zoom, and by appointment

Katz, Sherri Jean

Assistant Professor

327 Murphy Hall

612-626-4637 | sjkatz@umn.edu

Office hours

M: 12-2 p.m.

Kirtley, Jane

Silha Professor of Media Ethics and Law
Director, Silha Center for the Study of Media Ethics and Law

411 Murphy Hall

612-625-9038 | kirtl001@umn.edu

Office hours

On leave Spring 2021

Libin, Scott

Senior Fellow

115 Murphy Hall

612-626-0061 | slibin@umn.edu

Office hours

M, W: 10 a.m.-12 p.m. via Zoom, and by appointment

LoRusso, Susan

Assistant Professor
Assistant Director for Curriculum and Instruction

221 Murphy Hall

612-624-8593 | lorus004@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.; Th: 10:30-11:30 a.m.; F: 9:30-10:30 a.m.; and by appointment

McCombs, Regina

Lecturer and Senior Fellow

115 Murphy Hall

612-301-2538 | rmccombs@umn.edu

Office hours

M: 2:30-4 p.m., W: 10-11 a.m., via Zoom

Nagler, Rebekah

Associate Professor

304 Murphy Hall

612-625-9388 | nagle026@umn.edu

Office hours

JOUR 3005: Th: 11 a.m.-12 p.m.
JOUR 5543: Th: 3:45-4:45 p.m., or by appointment

O'Connor, Amy

Associate Professor

206 Murphy Hall

612-625-3224 | amyoc@umn.edu

Office hours

JOUR 4790: W 11 a.m.-12 p.m.
JOUR 5252: W 4-5 p.m.

Quinn, Sara

Lecturer and Fellow

202 Murphy Hall

612-626-1522 | squinn@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 12-2 p.m., or by appointment

Rim, Hyejoon

Associate Professor

213 Murphy Hall

612-624-2491 | hrim@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 2-3:30 p.m. via Zoom; and by appointment

Saffer, Adam

Assistant Professor

Office hours

T, Th: 9-11 a.m.

Segijn, Claire

Assistant Professor

308 Murphy Hall

612-626-7753 | segijn@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 1-3 p.m., and by appointment

Terry, Chris

Assistant Professor

417 Murphy Hall

612-626-8516 | crterry@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 10 a.m.-12 p.m. via Zoom

Toff, Benjamin

Assistant Professor

227 Murphy Hall

612-625-4381 | bjtoff@umn.edu

Office hours

On leave Spring 2021.

Vraga, Emily

Associate Professor
Don & Carole Larson Professorship in Health Communication

338 Murphy Hall

612-301-2722 | ekvraga@umn.edu

Office hours

W: 9-11 a.m. via Zoom, and by appointment

Yzer, Marco

Professor

306 Murphy Hall

612-625-0345 | mcyzer@umn.edu

Office hours

F: 1-3 p.m. via Zoom, or by appointment