People

Faculty

Agur, Colin

Assistant Professor

225 Murphy Hall

612-626-5528 | cpagur@umn.edu

Office hours

T, Th: 8 a.m.-12 p.m.

Bedingfield, Sid

Associate Professor

217 Murphy Hall

612-624-2438 | sbedingf@umn.edu

Office hours

On leave Fall 2021

Belair-Gagnon, Valerie

Assistant Professor
Director, Minnesota Journalism Center

329 Murphy Hall

612-626-7754 | vbg@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 11:15 a.m.-1:15 p.m.

Brown, Danielle

John & Elizabeth Cowles Professor of Journalism, Diversity and Equality

314 Murphy Hall

612-624-8771 | dkilgo@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 9:30-10 a.m. via Zoom

Carlson, Matt

Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

336 Murphy Hall

612-626-0325 | carlson1@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 1-3 p.m., or by appointment

Cohen, Elisia

Professor
Director, Hubbard School of Journalism and Mass Communication

111 Murphy Hall

612-625-1338 | ecohen@umn.edu

Office hours

Contact Lisa McDaniel, 612-625-2576 | lmcd@umn.edu

Cormany, Diane

Teaching Assistant Professor

321 Murphy Hall

612-625-3912 | dcormany@umn.edu

Office hours

3614: Th: 2-3:30 p.m.; 3745: W: 1-2 p.m.; and by appointment

DeFoster, Ruth

Lecturer
Director of Undergraduate Studies

219 Murphy Hall

612-301-2723 | defos002@umn.edu

Office hours

3745: T & Th: 1-2 p.m. via Zoom
4274W: T: 2-3 p.m. via Zoom

Dell'Orto, Giovanna

Associate Professor

204 Murphy Hall

612-626-2951 | dell0014@umn.edu

Office hours

M & W: 1-2 p.m., via Zoom

Doyle, Kenneth O.

Associate Professor

323 Murphy Hall

612-624-5341 | kendoyle@umn.edu

Office hours

On leave Fall 2021

Evans, Marissa

Part-time Teaching Assistant Professor

Office hours

M, W 9-10 a.m. via Zoom

Flournoy, Craig

Cowles Fellow and Lecturer

325 Murphy Hall

612-625-5088 | jflourno@umn.edu

Office hours

Th: 10:30 a.m.-12 p.m., or by appointment

Golden, Gayle

Senior Lecturer
Morse Alumni Distinguished University Teacher

121 Murphy Hall

612-624-2136 | ggolden@umn.edu

Office hours

M: 10 a.m.-12 p.m., or by appointment

Huh, Jisu

Professor
Raymond O. Mithun Chair in Advertising

211 Murphy Hall

612-626-5527 | jhuh@umn.edu

Office hours

On leave Fall 2021.

Jenson, Mark

Lecturer

109 Murphy Hall

612-626-1851 | jenso001@umn.edu

Office hours

M: 9-10 a.m., T: 2-3 p.m. & Th: 9-10 a.m., or by appointment, via Zoom

Johnson, Jennifer

Lecturer

202 Murphy Hall

612-625-5868 | joh02016@umn.edu

Office hours

JOUR 3241-3: T,Th: 11:15 a.m.-12:30 p.m., via Zoom
JOUR 3241-4: 12:30-1:30 p.m., via Zoom

Kanihan, Stacey

Teaching Associate Professor of Strategic Communication
Academic Director of the Professional MA Program in Strategic Communication

317 Murphy Hall

612-624-1064 | skanihan@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 3-4 p.m., and after class

Katz, Sherri Jean

Assistant Professor

327 Murphy Hall

612-626-4637 | sjkatz@umn.edu

Office hours

M: 1-3 p.m. via Zoom, or by appointment

Kirtley, Jane

Silha Professor of Media Ethics and Law
Director, Silha Center for the Study of Media Ethics and Law

411 Murphy Hall

612-625-9038 | kirtl001@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 10:45 a.m.-12:15 p.m.; W: 10-11:30 a.m. or by appointment

Libin, Scott

Senior Fellow

115 Murphy Hall

612-626-0061 | slibin@umn.edu

Office hours

M, W: 11 a.m.-12 p.m.

LoRusso, Susan

Assistant Professor
Assistant Director for Curriculum and Instruction

221 Murphy Hall

612-624-8593 | lorus004@umn.edu

Office hours

M: 10:30-11:30 a.m. in person and via Zoom; Th: 10:30-11:30 a.m. via Zoom only; and by appointment

McCombs, Regina

Lecturer and Senior Fellow

115 Murphy Hall

612-301-2538 | rmccombs@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 4 p.m.-5 p.m. & Th: 10 a.m.-12 p.m., both via Zoom

McCracken, Rich

Lecturer

109 Murphy Hall

612-625-7316 | mccr0025@umn.edu

Office hours

M: 2:30-3:30 p.m. & 5-5:30 p.m.

Nagler, Rebekah

Associate Professor

304 Murphy Hall

612-625-9388 | nagle026@umn.edu

Office hours

M: 1:30-2:30 p.m. in person; and by appointment via Zoom

O'Connor, Amy

Associate Professor

206 Murphy Hall

612-625-3224 | amyoc@umn.edu

Office hours

M: 12-1 p.m. via Zoom; In person by appointment

Quinn, Sara

Lecturer and Fellow

202 Murphy Hall

612-626-1522 | squinn@umn.edu

Office hours

T & Th: 1:30-3 p.m.

Rim, Hyejoon

Associate Professor

213 Murphy Hall

612-624-2491 | hrim@umn.edu

Office hours

On leave Fall 2021

Saffer, Adam

Assistant Professor

225 Murphy Hall

612-301-8642 | asaffer@umn.edu

Office hours

T, Th: 1:30-2:30 p.m.

Segijn, Claire

Assistant Professor

308 Murphy Hall

612-626-7753 | segijn@umn.edu

Office hours

On leave Fall 2021

Terry, Chris

Assistant Professor

417 Murphy Hall

612-626-8516 | crterry@umn.edu

Office hours

On leave Fall 2021

Toff, Benjamin

Assistant Professor

227 Murphy Hall

612-625-4381 | bjtoff@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 12-1 p.m. (CT), via Zoom

Vraga, Emily

Associate Professor
Don & Carole Larson Professorship in Health Communication

338 Murphy Hall

612-301-2722 | ekvraga@umn.edu

Office hours

On leave

Yzer, Marco

Professor

306 Murphy Hall

612-625-0345 | mcyzer@umn.edu

Office hours

F: 30-minute slots between 1:00-3 p.m.; and by appointment