People

Faculty

Agur, Colin

Assistant Professor

225 Murphy Hall

612-626-5528 | cpagur@umn.edu

Office hours

T, Th: 9:45-11:00 a.m. and by appointment via Zoom

Anderson, Betsy

Contract Teaching Assistant Professor

325 Murphy Hall

612-625-5088 | andbets@umn.edu

Office hours

T, Th: 2:15-3:15 p.m.; and by appointment

Bedingfield, Sid

Assistant Professor

217 Murphy Hall

612-624-2438 | sbedingf@umn.edu

Office hours

T, Th: 2:30-3:30 p.m. and by appointment via email

Belair-Gagnon, Valerie

Assistant Professor
Director, Minnesota Journalism Center

329 Murphy Hall

612-626-7754 | vbg@umn.edu

Office hours

W: 11 a.m.-12 p.m. and by appointment via Zoom or phone.

Carlson, Matt

Associate Professor

336 Murphy Hall

612-626-0325 | carlson1@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.; and by appointment

Cohen, Elisia

Professor
Director, Hubbard School of Journalism and Mass Communication

111 Murphy Hall

612-625-1338 | ecohen@umn.edu

Office hours

Contact Katerina Schuh at kschuh@umn.edu

Cormany, Diane

Contract Teaching Assistant Professor

321 Murphy Hall

612-625-3912 | dcormany@umn.edu

Office hours

T, Th: 12:45-1:45 p.m. and by appointment via Zoom

DeFoster, Ruth

Lecturer

202 Murphy Hall

612-301-2723 | defos002@umn.edu

Office hours

M: 3:00-4:00 p.m; W: 1:00-2:00 p.m.; and by appointment

Dell'Orto, Giovanna

Associate Professor

204 Murphy Hall

612-626-2951 | dell0014@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 2:30-4:30 p.m. via email or Zoom.

Doyle, Kenneth O.

Associate Professor

323 Murphy Hall

612-624-5341 | kendoyle@umn.edu

Office hours

T, Th: 12:30-1:30 p.m.; and by appointment

Golden, Gayle

Senior Lecturer
Morse Alumni Distinguished University Teacher

121 Murphy Hall

612-624-2136 | ggolden@umn.edu

Office hours

W: 2:00-3:30 p.m.; and by appointment

Hansen, Kathleen

Professor

Office hours

On leave Spring 2020

Huh, Jisu

Professor
Raymond O. Mithun Chair in Advertising
Director of Graduate Studies

211 Murphy Hall

612-626-5527 | jhuh@umn.edu

Office hours

T, Th: 1-2 p.m.; and by appointment

Ison, Chris

Contract Teaching Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies

210 Murphy Hall

612-626-7752 | isonx001@umn.edu

Office hours

T, Th: 2:30-3:30 p.m.; W: 3-4 p.m. and by appointment via FaceTime, Zoom and phone.

Jenson, Mark

Lecturer

109 Murphy Hall

612-626-1851 | jenso001@umn.edu

Office hours

M, W: 2-3 p.m.; T, Th: 10-11 a.m. and by appointment via Zoom or phone.

Johnson, Jennifer

Lecturer

109 Murphy Hall

612-625-5868 | joh02016@umn.edu

Office hours

M, W: 11 a.m.-12 p.m. and by appointment via Zoom or FaceTime

Kanihan, Stacey

Contract Teaching Associate Professor of Strategic Communication
Academic Director of the Professional MA Program in Strategic Communication

317 Murphy Hall

612-624-1064 | skanihan@umn.edu

Office hours

Th: 2:30-4:30 p.m.; and by appointment via Zoom or phone.

Katz, Sherri Jean

Assistant Professor

327 Murphy Hall

612-626-4637 | sjkatz@umn.edu

Office hours

By appointment via Zoom.

Kirtley, Jane

Silha Professor of Media Ethics and Law
Director, Silha Center for the Study of Media Ethics and Law

411 Murphy Hall

612-625-9038 | kirtl001@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 2-3:45 p.m.; and by appointment via Zoom and Skype.

Libin, Scott

Senior Fellow

115 Murphy Hall

612-626-0061 | slibin@umn.edu

Office hours

M, W: 11 a.m.-12 p.m. and by appointment via Zoom or phone.

LoRusso, Susan

Contract Teaching Assistant Professor
Assistant Director for Curriculum and Instruction

221 Murphy Hall

612-624-8593 | lorus004@umn.edu

Office hours

M, W, F: 9-10 a.m. and by appointment via Zoom

McCombs, Regina

Lecturer and Senior Fellow

115 Murphy Hall

612-301-2538 | rmccombs@umn.edu

Office hours

M 1:30-3:30 p.m.,T 9-11:30 a.m., W 1-3:30 p.m. and by appointment via Zoom, FaceTime or Google Hangout.

Nagler, Rebekah

Associate Professor

304 Murphy Hall

612-625-9388 | nagle026@umn.edu

Office hours

T, Th: 1-2:15 p.m., and by appointment; via Zoom

O'Connor, Amy

Associate Professor

206 Murphy Hall

612-625-3224 | amyoc@umn.edu

Office hours

Office hours are via Zoom. Appointment needed for Jour 8290. Jour 4990 contact during normal class hours on Tuesdays.

Quinn, Sara

Lecturer and Fellow

202 Murphy Hall

612-626-1522 | squinn@umn.edu

Office hours

T, Th: 12:00-2:30 p.m.; and by appointment

Reigstad, Amelia

Lecturer

109 Murphy Hall

612-625-7316 | areigsta@umn.edu

Office hours

M: 12:45-2 p.m.; W: by appointment, via Zoom, email or phone.

Rim, Hyejoon

Associate Professor

213 Murphy Hall

612-624-2491 | hrim@umn.edu

Office hours

W: 9:30-11 a.m. and by appointment via Zoom

Segijn, Claire

Assistant Professor

308 Murphy Hall

612-626-7753 | segijn@umn.edu

Office hours

T, Th: 1-2 p.m. via email or send an email to set up an appointment on Zoom

Terry, Chris

Assistant Professor

417 Murphy Hall

612-626-8516 | crterry@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 10 a.m.-12 p.m.; and by appointment via Zoom

Toff, Benjamin

Assistant Professor

227 Murphy Hall

612-625-4381 | bjtoff@umn.edu

Office hours

F: 1:30-2:30 p.m. and by appointment via Zoom.

Vraga, Emily

Associate Professor
Don & Carole Larson Professorship in Health Communication

338 Murphy Hall

612-301-2722 | ekvraga@umn.edu

Office hours

W: 10 a.m.-12 p.m. and by appointment via Zoom.

Weber, Matthew

Associate Professor; Cowles Endowed Fellow of Media Management

230 Murphy Hall

612-625-0742 | msw@umn.edu

Office hours

T: 11 a.m.-12 p.m. or by appointment via Zoom

Wehrenberg, Steve

Teaching Professor of Strategic Communication; Program Director of the Professional MA in Strategic Communication

219 Murphy Hall

612-625-6383 | wehre003@umn.edu

Office hours

By appointment

Yzer, Marco

Professor

306 Murphy Hall

612-625-0345 | mcyzer@umn.edu

Office hours

T, Th 11:15 a.m.-12:30 p.m. and T, Th 2:30-3:45 p.m. for classes. Available for additional contact hours first via email.