Diversity Fellows

In the Fall of 2018, the Hubbard School announced a new cohort of adjunct fellows who support diversity, equity and inclusion in our classrooms. The program has continued to add new fellows each semester since. The fellows, all professionals working in the areas of journalism and strategic communication, engage with students across a range of courses throughout each semester, offering expertise in areas such as ethics and radio production to beat reporting and advertising strategy.

2020-2021 Hubbard School Fellows for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Nitin Dua
Senior Strategist, Johannes Leonardo, ndua@umn.edu

Marissa Evans
Staff Writer, Los Angeles Times, maevans@umn.edu

Riham Feshir
Multimedia Reporter, MPR News, fesh003@umn.edu

Liz Flores
Photojournalist, Star Tribune, eflores@umn.edu

Carlos Gonzalez
Photojournalist, Star Tribune, cg@carlosgonzalezphoto.com

Jerry Holt
Staff Photographer, Star Tribune, holtj@umn.edu

Mukhtar Ibrahim
Founder, Sahan Journal, ibra0060@umn.edu

Justin McCray
News Photojournalist, FOX 9, mccra144@umn.edu

Marsha Pitts-Phillips
Founder, MRPP & Associates Communications LLC, mpittsph@umn.edu

Anjula Razdan
Digital Deputy Editor, Experience Life, razd001@umn.edu

Alex West Steinman
Founder, The Coven, westx230@umn.edu

Heidi Wigdahl
Multimedia Journalist, KARE-11, wigst012@umn.edu

Nancy Yang
Digital Producer, MPR News, yang0594@umn.edu

Past Fellows of Diversity, Equality and Inclusion (since 2018)

Christiane Cordero, WCCO
Luis Garrido, McCann
Mahmood Khan, Risdall
Troy Longie, Longie LLC
Frederick Melo, Pioneer Press    
Maria Reeve, Star Tribune (now with Houston Chronicle)