NSAC Team Takes Home Third Place in District 8 Competition

The team received a total of four awards from the judges.

Congratulations to the Hubbard School of Journalism and Mass Communication National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC) team; the team placed third in the District 8 competition this past weekend. Six schools (U of M, South Dakota State, UM-Duluth, University of North Dakota, St. Cloud State and University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh) competed on the West Bank campus. The teams were tasked with developing an integrated communications campaign for Wienerschnitzel to pitch to a panel of judges. 

In addition to third place, the team also received an ICF Next Award for Best Team Chemistry, an ICF Next Award for Best Consistent Creative Campaign, and an individual award for Outstanding Individual Presenter, which was awarded to team member Nick Furlong. 

"Our team made a terrific presentation on Saturday," said Mark Jenson, the team's faculty advisor. "They were well rehearsed and owned the stage. To say that I was proud of what they accomplished is an understatement. They represented the U of M and HSJMC very well. Our presentation team was Nick Furlong, Sydney Kaye, Jacob Van Blarcom, and Jack McGuiness. In the Q & A the judge from Wienerschnitzel said: 'You crushed it. Your personalities came through, the graphics were outstanding and creative was really strong.' This was so great for our students to hear." 

Over the course of the year, the Hubbard School NSAC team grew to more than 20 members. The team also had help from alumni and faculty over the course of the year, including from Jenson, Steve Wehrenberg, Doug Stokes, Troy Longie and Len Mitsch, and alums Matt Nyquist and Brandon Miller.

The 2018-2019 NSAC team included: 

Kelly McCrimmon – PresidentMary Larson – President
Maegan Green – President
Sam Carroll – President
Nick Furlong – Presenter
Sydney Kaye – Presenter
Jacob Van Blarcom – Presenter
Jack McGuiness – Presenter
Emily Vonderharr – Presentation Slides & Book Maker
Michael Kuznar – Presentation Slides, Book and Video Maker
Kelly Henning
Emily Peterson
Jacob Beck
Genevieve Benson
Minh Phan
Shuyu Gao
Olivia Vertin
Shana Craven
Annaliese Phidd
Mikalya Tonimato
Julia Hamburger
Anna Casey

NSAC team photo